ima

AT THE ARAB WORLD INSTITUTE

THE BARJEEL COLLECTION: MASTERPIECES OF MODERN AND CONTEMPORARY ARABIC ART
The Arab World Institute honors the Barjeel Foundation’s collection of modern and contemporary Arabic art. The immense depth and breadth of the exhibition pays tribute to the creative energy of the Arab art scene.
How can one accurately portray the artists’ approaches, tastes and deep desire to share beauty? The answer lies in the original scenography that gives the visitor the illusion of entering the reserves of a museum.
Major artists such as Adel Abdessemed, Hassan Sharif, Mohammed Cherkaoui, Marwan Kassab Bachi, Kader Attia, Rachid Koraichi and Etel Adnan will be honored alongside lesser-known ones.
February 28th to July 2nd, 2017
Tuesday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays, 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
THE EYE OF THE COLLECTOR
The first exhibition hall brings together the collection’s leading artists in a classical museum setting. The displayed works testify to the portraiture and abstraction trials that have been attempted since the beginning of the twentieth century. Moreover, the interaction between the pieces contains both formal and narrative echoes and reflects cultural particularities, contradictions and a variety of practices.
The next hall represents the archives of a museum in which its pieces appear to be specimens of scientific study. Proximity with the works allows the visitor to comprehend the pictorial materiality of each painting and to grasp every detail. This intimate approach reflects the collector’s original process based on experimentation and knowledge: it offers objects of beauty and reflection that provide the keys to understanding history.
The visit ends with a third aspect: the unveiling of the collection of Sultan Al Qassemi, founder of the Barjeel Art Foundation, followed by the presentation of a selection of documents, paintings, photographs, notes and letters.

ima

A L’INSTITUT DU MONDE ARABE

COLLECTION BARJEEL: CHEFS-D’OEUVRE DE L’ART MODERNE ET CONTEMPORAIN ARABE
Du 28 février 2017 au 2 juillet 2017, du mardi au vendredi 10h-18h00 / samedi, dimanche et jours fériés 10h-19h
L’Institut du monde arabe met à l’honneur la collection d’art moderne et contemporain arabe de la fondation Barjeel. Ce fond d’une immense richesse rend hommage à l’énergie créative de la scène artistique arabe.
Comment faire partager sa réflexion, sa démarche, ses goûts, son profond désir de partager la beauté? La réponse est donnée par une scénographie originale qui mène le visiteur jusque dans les réserves d’un musée.
Des artistes majeurs tels qu’Adel Abdessemed, Hassan Sharif, Mohammed Cherkaoui, Marwan Kassab Bachi, Kader Attia, Rachid Koraichi, Etel Adnan seront mis à l’honneur aux côtés de personnalités moins souvent exposées.
L’OEIL DU COLLECTIONNEUR
Une première salle réunit des artistes phares de la collection au sein d’une scénographie muséale classique. Les œuvres exposées témoignent des expérimentations menées depuis le début du XXe siècle tant dans le genre du portrait que de l’abstraction. Plus encore, l’interaction entre les pièces révèle des échos formels et narratifs tout en reflétant des spécificités culturelles, des contradictions et une variété de pratiques.
Puis on pénètre dans un espace évoquant les réserves d’un musée où sont présentées d’autres pièces. Ces dernières apparaissent comme autant d’objets d’études offerts à la consultation scientifique. La proximité avec les œuvres est alors possible : dans un rapprochement intime, le visiteur peut appréhender chaque détail et toute la matérialité picturale du tableau. Un procédé original qui traduit la démarche du collectionneur, basée sur l’expérimentation et la connaissance : il s’agit d’offrir au visiteur des objets de beauté et de réflexion servant à la recherche et donnant les clés pour comprendre l’histoire.
La visite se clôt sur une troisième approche: le dévoilement des espaces privés du collectionneur Sultan Al Qassemi, fondateur de la Barjeel Art Foundation, avec la présentation d’une sélection de documents, œuvres, photographies, notes et lettres.