parcours_st_germain

The Art of Shapes

The 18th edition of the Parcours Saint-Germain honors “The Art of Shapes.” Shapes differentiate art from words, create images and suggest backgrounds.

 

The history of shapes is that of the artists who create them. In them lies the artists’ strength and their capacity to create. Free from words they are endowed with a hypersensitivity to all that surrounds them and take all the materials and objects that their environment offers to create what is not stated. There are many reasons for taking action: expressing or healing oneself, testifying, questioning; artists manage to bring out images and volumes of whose genesis they alone can master.

 

The emergence of new materials, from the most palpable to the most digital, gives rise to a constant appropriation of these materials by visual artists. The artist constructs, deconstructs and explores the potential of the matter, then shapes and deforms it to produce pieces that are shapeless and amazing. Now sovereign, the works become silent inventories of experiments while showing the obsessions and interior struggles of the artists. Abstract, figurative, polymorphous, hybrid, composite: here the forms are, in turn, judged and appreciated on their representation.

The artists have their own formal vocabulary. On one hand, our world is shaped naturally by existing forms, and on the other hand, it is shaped by the forms of the artists. The two repertoires mirror each other and are mutually inspired. The Parcours Saint-Germain is the perfect setting in which to reveal these connections. Through the windows, suspended in the shops and above the benches of the legendary cafés, visitors will soon see these works. Faced with the forms, visitors will agree on this moment of contemplation, their eyes focused on these never before seen forms, gradually allowing them the opportunity for profound introspection.

More

parcours_st_germain

L’ART DE LA FORME

LA 18ÈME ÉDITION DU PARCOURS SAINT-GERMAIN MET À L’HONNEUR « L’ART DE LA FORME ». LES FORMES SONT CELLES QUI DIFFÉRENCIENT L’ART; DES MOTS, CRÉENT DES IMAGES ET SUGGÈRENT LE FOND.

L’histoire des formes est celle des artistes. En cela réside leur force, leur capacité à créer. Libre de tout mot, les artistes, dotés d’une hyper sensibilité aux choses qui les entourent, prennent pour palette l’ensemble des matériaux et objets qu’offre leur environnement pour créer ce qui ne s’énonce pas. Les raisons du passage à l’acte sont multiples : s’exprimer, témoigner, interroger, se guérir ; les artistes parviennent à faire surgir des images et des volumes dont eux seuls maîtrisent la genèse.

L’apparition des nouvelles matières, des plus palpables aux plus digitales donne lieu sans cesse à une appropriation de celle-ci par les plasticiens. L’artiste construit, déconstruit, explore les potentiels de la matière; forme, déforme pour produire des pièces informes, déformées, formidables. Désormais souveraines, les œuvres deviennent les inventaires silencieux des expérimentations, obsessions, combats des artistes. Abstraites, figuratives, polymorphes, hybrides, composites : voici qu’à leur tour, elles sont jugées et appréciées par leur représentation.

Les artistes ont leur propre vocabulaire formel. Notre monde est façonné d’un côté par les formes de l’existant produites par les enjeux d’usages / et de l’autre côté, les formes des artistes. Les deux répertoires se répondent et s’inspirent mutuellement. Le Parcours Saint-Germain est l’écrin parfait pour révéler ces correspondances. Au travers des vitrines, suspendues dans les boutiques, au-dessus des banquettes des cafés mythiques, les visiteurs observeront bientôt ces œuvres. Face à elles, ils s’accorderont ce moment de contemplation, leurs regards portés sur ces formes jusqu’ici inconnues, atteignant peu à peu leur propre fond.

En savoir plus